Quote

A Good Read

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Spinning Yarns.”

When I get into a good book there is no walking away. Seriously, when I read The Red Tent I called in sick to finish the book after staying up all night reading. A good story teller transports the reader with content and context that is rich with description into the story, creating an invested relationship between the story teller and the reader. Finding the right combination of words and circumstances that creates this relationship with the reader is what makes a truly great story teller.

As a writer there is a desire to capture the emotional experience in such a way that it helps others either relate to or expand their own experiences or perceptions. When someone reads something that I have written and is saying “Yes, exactly” while they absorb the content of the message I know that I have created something compelling. And that is a GREAT feeling.

Leave a comment