Quote

Phone a Friend?

Life can be littered with difficult situations of varying degrees of overall impact. What I have come to understand about myself and others is that asking for help can be difficult for both parties. Particularly when a difficult situation is created by ones own poor choices.

As a single parent and the only income earner in the house managing my finances was always a challenge. There never seemed to be enough money. Even though I earned a decent living wage my money management skills were (and still are) not my strong suite. Eventually, the financial dysfunction created many difficult situations for me. Utilities would be shut off. Cars would be repossessed. Luckily I had the support of my friends and family to help me through.

Looking back, I realize that many of the difficult financial situations I found myself in were really just created out of need to be saved. I was the one creating these hardships and placing the consequences at the feet of those around me. In a twisted way I was extracting a sense of self-value through these dramatics instead of building self-value and confidence by simply taking care of my finances on my own.

It took a toll on my relationships. But the greatest impact was within once my self-awareness grew and I had greater insight into my own behavior and choices. Today, I would not repeat those choices and am thankful for the love and support I received despite my inability to manage my own life in a responsible way.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Calling Uncle Bob.”

Leave a Reply

